INSTRUCTIONS FOR OBTAINING A MARRIAGE LICENSE
IN WASHINGTON COUNTY
Before getting married, you must visit the local County Clerk’s Office to apply for a marriage license. The County Clerk will ask you to produce the following:
*Proof of legal age, such as driver’s license, passport or birth certificate. State law requires that you be 18 or older to apply for a marriage license, although 16 and 17 year male or female may get married with the permission of both parents or legal guardian.
*A $50.00 fee for the marriage license
*You apply for a marriage license at the Office of Nancy Heseman, Washington County Courthouse, Nashville, IL. Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Monday through Friday.
*Persons obtaining a marriage license in Washington County may not use the license in any other county. The license must be obtained at least one day prior to being used. The license is void 60 days after the effective date.
*Persons may not marry blood relatives, down to and including first cousins, under the laws of the State of Illinois.
*The license must be returned to the County Clerk’s office by the officiary of the ceremony within 10 days after the date of marriage.