INSTRUCTIONS FOR OBTAINING A MARRIAGE LICENSE IN WASHINGTON COUNTY
Before entering into Holy Matrimony, you must visit Shari Hempen, Washington County Clerk’s Office to apply for a marriage license, located at the Washington County Court House, Nashville, IL. Hours 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
The license is only valid in the county your receive it from. The license must be obtained at least one day prior to being used. The license is good for 60 days after the effective date, after which time it becomes void.
The County Clerk will ask you to produce proof of legal age, such as driver’s license, passport or birth certificate. State law requires that you be 18 or older to apply for a marriage license. If you are a 16 and 17 year male or female you may get married if your parents or legal guardian appear before the County Clerk and give sworn consent to you entering into marriage.
There is a $50.00 fee for the marriage license.
The license must be returned to the County Clerk’s office by the officiary of the ceremony within 10 days after the date of marriage.